What is Vegetable Glycerin? Vegetable glycerin is a product produced from glycerol. The glycerol is a by product that is produce from the processing of animal fat or vegetable. When Glycerin is expressed as Vegetable it means the base glycerol used to make the glycerin was from vegetable base glycerol.
What is the difference between Glycerol and Glycerin? Glycerol is very corrosive and it is not Glycerin. There is a lot of confusion in the market place from the recent development of small companies processing restrurant greases and oil and further processing it into biodiesel. The by-product produced is crude glycerol. There are many uninformed people trying to sell glycerol as glycerin. These are not the same products. Make sure to ask the right questions, if you are purchasing glycerin off the internet.
Can Vegetable Glycerin be used in food? Unless the product is designated as "Glycerine USP" or Glycerin USP" it is not food grade glycerin. Some manufactures may label Glycerin as Glycerine. It is the same product. In addition if you are using the product in food the container must have a lot number.
What is Kosher? Kosher is a certification by the orthodox church that the product may be further used in Kosher grade products.
What concerns should I have if I buy glycerin over the internet? The safest way is to ask for a Kosher certificate. The kosher certificate is only good for 6 months. It must match the exact label on the container. Third partner transfers of different companies names is a violation of the kosher copyright.
There are a lot of uniformed people reselling Glycerin as Glycerin USP. USP Glycerin must be packaged in a class 8 clean room. There products are easy to detect if you look for these three items. This will ensure you are receiving exactly what you ordered.
If your Glycerin is not being used directly in food or beverages, you may choose to order the less expensive Vegetable Glycerin product listed here. The difference between Glycerin USP and Glycerin is certification.